top of page
Search
  • MariahLEvans

Checking in on Yourself During a Crisis

As the world is under severe distress, I have found myself needing more emotional check ins than normal. Every where I look there are constant Coronavirus reminders. This virus has effected everyone in the world one way or another, which makes it very difficult to check in on yourself. I have had so many different emotions during this time and the best way for me to deal with my emotions is to write them out. During a time that is so uncertain, I have started feeling comfort in the things that I can control. So before I go any further, I want to include a disclaimer that if you are not in the emotional state to read about the COVID-19 than I suggest reading this post another time.


As I have mentioned in a former post, when I was a little girl I contracted an immune disease that temporarily paralyzed me from the waste down. Due to the lack of knowledge surrounding my condition, the doctors do not know if the virus is still in my body, if it is dormant, or if it has completely left my body. Since it was a long time ago, I am hoping the virus is completely gone, but since I contracted it I will always be considered "Immunocompromised".

As we are all becoming aware, we are ALL at risk. That is a scary concept to comprehend, but avoiding that fact could put other people in danger.


Now that I have said my piece about how everyone should be staying at home, I want to talk about getting used to our new "normal". As a senior in college, this semester was supposed to go very differently. I moved back home, while all my belongings are still across the country. My classes are now using Zoom to connect online and I do not know the next time I will see my friends in person. So over the past few weeks I have had to remind myself to control what I can control.



The simplest routines such as waking up with an alarm or making myself a cup of coffee gives the feeling of calmness. When my thoughts start to go wild about the "what ifs", I go on a run outside. Many of my professors have incorporated meditation time into my classes these last two years, so I have tried to do ten minutes of meditation once a day. These daily activities keep me in my routine and help me when I get anxious about the future.

Earlier today, I was e-mailing a professor and when I asked her how she was doing she said,

"it has been a chaotic time, but there is some comfort in knowing that we are all going through the chaos together!"

That statement really resonated with me. This may be one of the only times in my life that everyone in the world can come together through a crisis.


Maybe your form of self-preservation is not going on social media for a few days, reading a new book, or starting an at home workout regime. Whatever it may be, this can be a time to find your "safe haven" away from the chaos of the world. While dealing with all of this, we need to come to peace that there is only so much in our control. We can not control what other people are doing. We can not control a virus. BUT we can control our daily routine, headspace, and outlook on the situation.


Lastly, remember to check up on people. We do not know what is going on in other's lives, so text or call someone just to see how they are coping with their situation. Your text or call could make someone else's day!


Stay safe!

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page