top of page
Search
  • MariahLEvans

Are At-Home Workouts the Next Big Thing in Fitness?

Is it just me or is being forced to stay in the house all day making everyone go a little crazy? Or, are you sick of your apple watch reminding you every hour to get up and get active? For myself, working out has always been a way to relieve stress. The gym is my happy place and I need that time during the day to keep me in balance. Regardless of my feelings of anger, stress, or sadness, I can always rely on going to the gym to get my endorphins flowing. After moving back home and being taken away from my everyday routine, I have found it difficult to keep my body moving the same way I have been doing in the past.


Before the quarantine, I was getting in 4-5 miles of steps a day, solely by walking on a college campus. On top of that, I was going to fitness classes with my friends, using the campus recreation to lift, and going on daily runs. Similarly to most people, my routine was the same almost everyday and thankfully I had the resources I needed to accomplish my goals.


Now, we have all been put in an unusual circumstance that has left us out of our comfort zone. As an extrovert, the reality of being in isolation is scary. We have had to adapt to being taken away from our friends and most of my social interactions. Just as I have socially adapted, I have had to physically adapt to what I can do at home. I will be the first one to say that at-home workouts are not for everyone. Before this quarantine, I had to be at the gym to get a productive workout in.


Due to the quarantine, the $100 billion fitness industry has been forced to go virtual. Every time I open up a social media app, I am constantly seeing a different fitness instructor doing live streaming workouts or posting their daily workout. Not only are these workouts being adapted, but a good portion of them are being offered for FREE. This is a huge shift in the fitness industry.


Many people have turned their garages or empty rooms into mini gyms, but this rush of change has seriously raised the prices of gym equipment. Some businesses are on back order till June or July, due to the high demand of orders. Other people are using this advantage and selling used equipment only for ridiculously high prices.


Thankfully, fitness instructors are not only giving people free classes, but they are also creating guides for those without proper equipment. There is still the battle of finding the motivation, BUT let's look at the bright side of all of this. If you have been wanting to get in shape for a while, but you have just been too busy or money was too tight for a membership. There is no more excuses. These fitness instructors are giving us quality workouts for an unbeatable price.


I mean let's be honest. This may be the only time in our lives that we have all day to be stuck at home. As you sit at home re-watching your favorite Netflix show, do a quick 30 minute workout. You will be amazed at how your endorphins start flowing and your mood is instantly boosted.


As always stay safe and health!!



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page